Homemade Marshmallow Peeps

A fellow grad student in my department asked if I could make my own peeps for Easter.

Challenge? Accepted.

peeps1

I used this simple marshmallow recipe from Smitten Kitchen, originally from Gourmet 1998, and added a bit of red food coloring to make them pink. I also divided the marshmallows between the pan size she calls for and a smaller (about 5×7-inch) pan because I didn’t want the marshmallows to be too thick.

To make sure I got the look just right, James made a special bunny cookie cutter for me. This is the same guy who made the heart cookie cutter for Valentine’s Day; crazy talented, right?! If you don’t have an equally remarkable labmate with impressive machine shop skills, I’m really sorry. You’re missing out. You’ll have to find a bunny cookie cutter somewhere or use a different shape. Hearts for Valentine’s Day? Clovers for St. Patrick’s Day (green food coloring, of course)? Red and blue and white stars for Fourth of July? Orange pumpkins for Halloween? The possibilities are endlessly intriguing. Conversely, we could see if James is interested in a side business selling custom cookie cutters… That is, assuming I’m willing to share my cookie cutter-making virtuoso. Big assumption.

bunny

Look at that seam… I have no idea how he does it, but I’m not going to question the wizardry so long as it keeps producing this sort of magic!

After punching out each bunny, I rolled the edges in pink and purple sugar sprinkles. Oh, and make sure you lightly grease the cookie cutter before you try cutting out marshmallows! (I may have learned that one the hard way…)

Finally, dip a toothpick in melted chocolate to dab on eyes and a nose. Cute, cute, cute!

peeps3

It’s so easy, I’m not going to give you the recipe – follow the Smitten Kitchen link to make the marshmallows and then come back here for directions on how to do the rest. Soft, fluffy, and sugary homemade marshmallow peeps? That completely blow regular, plastic-y peeps out of the water? Done and done. No more store-bought peeps for moi!

I hope you all had a lovely Easter. And please let me know if you try a different holiday or celebration version of these!

Please share your thoughts, friend. I'd love to hear what you think!

